Monday, November 14, 2016

Suffer Yourself/Ectoplasm/Cimmerian Shade Recordings/2016 CD Review

  Sugger  Yourself  are  a  band  from  Poland  that  plays  a  very  atmospheric  form  of  funeral  doom/death  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2016  album  "Ectoplasm"  which  will  be  released  on  November  25th  by  Cimmerian  Shade  Recordings.

  A  very  dark  and  atmospheric  soundscape  along  with some  spoken  word  parts  start  off  the  album  and  after  a  minute  the  music  gets  a  lot  more  heavy  along  with  some  death  metal  growls  and  depressive  black  metal  screams  while  the  slow  riffing  is  in  more  of  a  doom  metal  direction  and  you  can  also  hear  all  of  the  musical  instruments  that  are  present  on  the recording.

  Synths  can  be  heard  mixed  in  with  the  heavy  parts  at  times  while  the  solos  and  leads  are  done  in  more  of  a  melodic  fashion  and  there  is  also  a  brief  use  of  female  vocals  and  clean  male  singing clean  guitars  can  also  be  heard  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording  and  there  is  also  a  few  seconds  of  pig  squeals  and  all  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  and  on  one  of  the  tracks  the  music  starts  to  speed  up  for  a  few  seconds  and  also  introduces  blast  beats  onto  the  recording  while  the  main  focus  is  more  on  a  slow  funeral  doom  style  and  elements  of  ambient  are  added  onto  the  last  track.

  Suffer  Yourself  plays  a style  of  funeral  doom/death  metal  that  is  very  atmospheric  and  melodic  and  also  adds  in  some  90'  influences  while  also  updating  the  genre  for  the  modern  day,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  cover  dark  and  depressive  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Suffer  Yourself  are  a  very  great  sounding  atmospheric  funeral  doom/death  metal  band  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Abysmal  Emptiness"  and  "Dead  Visions".  8  out  of  10.. 


No comments:

Post a Comment